A Moment of Realization

One day, I was just wondering by myself

When I came by a diary in the bookshelf

It was my mom’s, to my pleasant surprise

“I better sneak in, it’ll have some advice”

 

As I let it open, what my eyes saw

Every word struck fairly with awe

I never knew she had hopes so high

Passion I witnessed, I let out a sigh

 

Just like her daughter, she once had dreams

about her life. But now it  just screams !

She too had goals that needed fulfilling

Career’s passion overhead, was drilling

 

But all came to an end, when she got married

And no one ever knew, what burden she carried

She killed it all, for the sake of her selfish kids

Why did I never witness the tears on her eyelids?

 

Now when I think of it, a feeling paces

We are totally alike, just different faces

With expectations high, I picture life

Sooner all will end, as I become a wife

 

And someday will come, I’ll have children

who I’ll never think of as any burden

And all that I’ll know, will be to worry

And lose all my life in such a hurry .

 

Oh my mom ! Now I love you even more

I promise I say this from the deepest core

In your anxieties, I’ll not let you drown

Oh dear mother ! I’ll never let you down

 

And do you know? how does this life roll?

It is all of your good deeds that control;

What treatment you’ll get in coming days.

So find today useful in mending your ways.

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Esther says:

    Beautiful.
    Once again, I like the rhyme.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. aymenkiyani says:

      Thankyou so much Esther 🙇

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome post, throughout our early years we definitely don’t know what our parents sacrifice!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

